Miss Me Yet? (There is only one correct answer)

Oh hey, almost didn’t see you there wondering if that girl who was never that reliable of a blogger to begin with has finally dropped of the interwebs. About that, things like finals and traveling to Istanbul and moving out of the UK and Christmas and getting a real person (kinda) job that will pay real money (kinda) and last past graduation (for a little whiles anyway) have been rather distracting. Well, plus the ever-present white noise of doubt that nothing I write would be worth reading anyway.

This post is not going to make any mentions past this paragraph about the confetti worthy event that will exist for an instant around midnight tonight. Partly because I’m not in a summing up type mood. But mostly because as I write this from my parents house in my pajamas (oh yeah, I’m cool) I’m a little depressed about the situation. But it’s not really worth mentioning as I’m confident that when I wake up tomorrow and the calender no longer holds connotations of grandiose expectations all I’ll feel is well-rested.

So anyway, where was I? Oh yes, I’m back from England. And wanna know a funny thing about my semester abroad? It was – with several preemptive months tacked on in the beginning – completely romance-less. No dates, no kisses, not even any crushes. And sure, I’ve bemoaned it some. And given the option, I’m a big fan of intimacy. But frankly, it’s been a nice consistent level of fine. And maybe I’ll sound a lot ditzier than I hope I am for saying this but: I was relieved to find out that not having some guy to talk about or obsess over didn’t make me boring.

And I know this isn’t the first time I’ve paraded my look-at-me-all-single-and-ok-with-it self around here but there something about looking back on an entire semester in college – and entire life experience on another continent – completely devoid of any sex or relationships that inspires the tiniest sense of “huh, good to know that’s not the end of the world”.

Truth is, I’m sure I’ll stop feeling this way if all of 2012 is man-less. But I’m completely proud to say that biggest news from my 2011 was landing a job – all by my self.

2 responses to “Miss Me Yet? (There is only one correct answer)

  1. bluntdelivery

    well now we miss you for SURE!!!! wtf?

Leave a comment